Roadster Of The Week – Steven’s NB Miata



Article by: Adam Zitka
Photography by: Steve D

This sleek black NB is from Dallas, Texas in the US of A, And I’ve had my eye on it for quite a while for now. I contacted Steve some time ago about getting his Roadster on the blog, And finally … It is!

“I bought the car in the fall of 2006. It was bone stock but I had a vision for it. See, I came from a long line of high-performance, highly modified cars. I had worked my way up from a 1986 Toyota MR2 through 3 more MR2’s (one being a very nicely modded MK2 Turbo) on to a 300whp bugeye Subaru WRX and then a fancy-schmancy Mercedes C32 AMG. Pretty much everyone I know thought I was crazy when I sold the luxury rocket ship AMG to get a ’99 Miata with 114k miles on it. They just didn’t see what I saw when I looked at it.”

This is one mean looking Roadster, The Garage Vary eyelids are partly responsible for creating a rather happy looking car, Appear angry and aggressive. A Garage Vary front lip also helps with the aggressive appearance that Steve’s NB has. Other exterior modifications consist of a OEM hardtop, “Large” OEM Side skirts, And “Small” OEM mud guards.

The set of wheels on Steve’s NB are a set of Rota Grid off roads, However for track events he switches to a set of 949Racing 6UL’s.

Once upon a time, Steve’s interior was cream from factory. So Steve swapped it out for the standard black trim. Along with that he installed a set of Sparco Speed seats and a set of Ultrashield 5 point harness’s. Steve also has a couple of Autometer sport gauges to monitor the vitals.


“Before I even bought the car I knew I’d go with boost. I had planned on going the turbo route since I was way more familiar with that than with superchargers. Gary from Track Dog Racing – located here in Dallas, TX – convinced me otherwise while I was standing in his back yard talking shop one day. I’m glad he did. While the 210whp that my car currently makes may not sound like a lot, the way it’s delivered from the MP62 supercharger is brilliant. It drives like a strong V6 car instead of like a small turbo’ed 4-banger. Power and torque are linear, predictable and available down low in the revs. It makes going balls out a whole lot more fun.”

You read right, There’s a MP62 Supercharger bolted to the BP4W engine, Which is currently running at 10PSI. To help run this boost safely, A TDR intercooler has been installed, Along with a set of 350cc injectors. A Jackson Racing header, And a Racing Beat exhaust system has been installed, Which reduces flow and increases power further.

 This is controlled by the well-known Greddy E-manage Ultimate. Steve has had some problems with the drivetrain holding up the extra power, So he has had the PPF reinforced and has upgraded the clutch.

“What I saw back then is what everyone else sees now. A car that’s equally as comfortable on the track as it is at a show. It turns corners and heads in equal measure.”

Remember guys, We are always looking for new Roadsters to feature, so if you have a killer Roadster you would like to see on RoadsterGarage.net, then shoot us an email at roadstergarage@live.com.au

Congrats Steve, You are the ROTW!

Modifacations:

Engine & Drivetrain:

Jackson Racing MP62 Supercharger
Jackson Racing header
Racing Beat Midpipe & Muffler
350cc Injectors
Greddy E-manage Ultimate
TDR intercooler
Spec Stage 2 clutch/lightened stock flywheel

Wheels & Suspension:

Tein Basic Coilovers
Racing Beat Sway Bars
Mazdaspeed Motor Mounts
Reinforced PPF
Stage II Clutch
Lightened OEM Flywheel
Superpro Diff Mounts
Hard Dog Roll Bar
Rota Grid Offroads w/ 215/40 Maxxis tyres
949Racing 6UL 15×9 w/ 225/50 NT01 tyres

Exterior:

Garage Vary Eyelids
Garage Vary Front Lip
OEM Hardtop
OEM “Large” Sideskirts
OEM “Small” Mud Guards
Smoked Tail Lights, Reflectors & Indicators

Interior:

Black Interior
Sparco Speed Seats
Ultrashield 5pt Harness’s
Rev Limiter Gauges
Soft Top Deleted

2 Responses to Roadster Of The Week – Steven’s NB Miata

  1. Shaun says:

    Ten out of ten. Those rims are awesome!

  2. Steve says:

    Great article and awesome pics. Way to go.

Leave a comment